Skip to main content
Banner Image

Annual Report 2012-2013: Director's Corner

Library Director

Ann Dixon
Contact:
Brackett Library
Harding University
Box 12267
Searcy, AR 72149
501-279-4354

Director's Administrative Assistant

Launa Bookwalter
Contact:
(501)279-4354

lbookwalter@harding.edu

PowerSearch

Brackett Logo blank blank


blank blank
blank blank

Highlights of the Year

Brackett Library was honored with a Distinguished Christian Servant Award at the 2012 Harding University Lectureship for the creation of a digital collection of Jim Bill McInteer’s sermon outlines and notes.  A 1942 graduate of Harding College, he preached from the time he was 18 years old until his death at the age of 88 in 2010. Famous for never repeating a sermon during his 30 years at the West End church in Nashville, Tenn., Brother McInteer kept meticulous records. Following his death, Brother McInteer's family donated this priceless collection to Harding University. The staff of Brackett Library continues to work to digitize this material making it available to a much wider audience.

EBSCO's Discovery Service, commonly called "PowerSearch" was launched at the beginning of the school year.  This tool pulls into a single index the library's local collection, both physical and digital, and 85% or more of the licensed database collection.  The single search portal allows patrons to more easily broaden their research while maintaining easy access to all the full text content the library has to offer.  There has been positive feedback on the user-friendliness of this tool and the aid it provided to research methods.

In January some changes were made in the reporting structure and the Interlibrary Loan Assistant moved to an office near the circulation desk and shared in the responsibilities for public service.  During the spring semester other plans were made to restructure the entire Public Service area and three librarians prepared to physically move their offices and assume new roles in the library.  The moves were made in May at the end of the regular school year.

The reclassification project from Dewey Decimal to Library of Congress Classification System continued with a record 13,766 books reclassified and reshelved.  This project includes a major shifting of the collection.

The 2013-2013 academic year was a landmark year for the library’s Instruction Department.  The expansion of the university’s Allied Health areas and increased collaboration with both the College of Bible and Religion and the Department of Communication led to a 22% increase in the number of students receiving Information Instruction in a classroom setting.  The majority of the increase came from meetings with Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, and Physical Therapy classes.  Because Brackett Library does not have a dedicated Health Sciences Librarian, E-Resources Librarian Jean Waldrop served as the liaison for these areas and provided excellent service and research assistance.

Brackett Library continues to be a busy place. The gate registered a count of 383,900 visitors for the year.  In the spring semester, 4,027 unique users logged into library computers 71,212 times. LabStats reported that the average duration of a log in at the library was approximately 34 minutes.  To compare, logins for the other 9 public computer labs combined reported 9,592 fewer logins. 

With the continued growth of the student body, the library has been called upon to serve an ever increasing number of students without an increase in the number of librarians and staff.  Two concerns that must be addressed are the size of the building and the number of librarians per student. The last additional librarian position was added in 1997-1998 when the FTE of the student body was 3733.  The FTE for the 2012-2013 school year was 5649.

Staff Changes in 2012-2013

For the first time in several years, the librarian's responsibilities remained the same. However, several staff positions changed during the year:

  • Technical Services:   Rachel Gibbs, who worked in the library as a student worker and later as full-time staff retired after 29 years of service to the library. Megan Hasler became the Technical Services Assistant in July. 
  • Circulation:   Lisa Wagar, who had also transitioned from a student worker role to Circulation Assistant, moved to Nashville. Jennifer Hodges accepted the responsibility of that role in June.  However, in March, she moved to Texas and Jennifer Dillavou became the Circulation Assistant.
  • Reference services:   After several years as Information Services Assistant, Katie Holmes accepted a position in the Alpha Chi office in February.  Whitney Hammes was hired for that position. 

Professional Development - Ann Dixon

Memberships

Arkansas Library Association

Associated Women for Harding

Christian College Librarians

Positions Held

Christian College Librarians – President

Conferences

Arkansas Library Association Conference

What's Around the Next Bend: Future Currents in Resource Sharing (ILL - thru Amigos)

Amigos Online Conference

Christian College Librarians

Online Training/Webinars

OCLC WorldShare Management Services webinar

Harding's Emergency Preparedness Training

Face to Face Training

Gartner database

Harding University Harassment Training

Professional Meetings

ARKLink

Committees/Boards on Campus

Harding University Presidiental Inauguration Committee

Broadaway Endowment Scholarship

Academic Leaders

Information Services &Technology Management

Advisory Board of the Ronald McNair Program

Information Services &Technology Consultative Committee

Chris Broadaway Endowment Fund

Sponsor/Campus Activities

Homecoming Author Fair

Trunk of Treat (Books handed out for Halloween)

Bisons for Christ

White County Spelling Bee

Presentations

New Faculty

Professional Development - Launa Bookwalter

Conferences

InfoBits [ALPS]

Arkansas Library Paraprofessionals [ALPS]

Amigos Online Conference

Online Training/Webinars

Harding's Emergency Preparedness Training

Face to Face Training

Harding University Harassment Training

Sponsor/Campus Activities

Bisons for Christ

Presentations

"Amazing Race" - Pharmacy Camp

Church Activities

Downtown Church of Christ Children’s Ministry Carnival Committee Member

Downtown Church of Christ Audio/Visual team

Daughter’s of Light Committee Member for Downtown Church of Christ

Professional Development - Debbie Anderson

Conferences

InfoBits [ALPS]

Amigos Online Conference

Online Training/Webinars

Harding's Emergency Preparedness Training

Face to Face Training

Harding University Harassment Training

Presentations

"Amazing Race" - Pharmacy Camp

Library Mission

To provide resources and instruction for and collaborate with students and faculty and to preserve Harding's legacy.

Stats @ a Glance

Gate Count                383,900        

Public printing          2,511,672

Items Circulated           57,818

Total Reserve Items       8,003

Databases available         141

Unique E-Resources   75,270

Student Worker Hours 12,282

Acquisition Assistant

Debbie Anderson
Contact:
Box 12267
501-279-4262
danderson@harding.edu